Wisconsin Statutes requires the operator of a motor vehicle involved in any accident resulting in injury, death, or property damage, to immediately stop at the scene to fulfill the following requirements:
1. Render any reasonable assistance to the injured,
2. Give their name, address, and vehicle registration information, and
3. Exhibit his or her operator license if requested.
Should the accident involve an unattended vehicle or other property, you must also attempt to immediately notify the owner, or if unsuccessful, leave written notice with your name, address, and vehicle registration information.
The law also requires that you immediately notify the police of any accident involving injury, death, or property damage to any one person to the apparent extent of $1,000.00 or more ($200.00 if government owned property). Furthermore, accidents under these circumstances must be reported to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation within ten days. If you have contacted the police, they will make the report for you.
If the police department cannot file the report, and you have been instructed to file it yourself, you will need to complete a Wisconsin Driver Report of Accident form MV4002.